Tremont Sheldon P.C. Reaches $3,550,000.00 Settlement With Diocese of Bridgeport

The law firm of Tremont Sheldon P.C. (TSRM) has recently reached settlements with the Diocese of Bridgeport totaling $3,550,000.00 on behalf of five victims of clergy sexual abuse.

Since 1993, TSRM has represented over 185 victims of childhood sexual abuse, including cases against public and private schools, boarding schools, youth coaches, religious institutions and medical facilities resulting in over $70 million dollars recovered for our clients.


1. Father Walter Coleman – TSRM reached a settlement on behalf of two men who were sexually abused by Father Coleman during the late 1970s while Coleman was assigned to St. Patrick’s Church in Bridgeport, CT.

2. Father Robert Morrissey – TSRM reached a settlement on behalf of a man who was sexually abused by Father Morrissey during the early 1990s while Morrissey was assigned to St. Mary’s Church in Ridgefield, CT.

3. Father Larry Jensen – TSRM reached a settlement on behalf of a man who was sexually abused by Father Jensen during the early 2000s. Father Jensen was active in the Danbury, CT Emmaus program and was assigned to St. Anthony’s Maronite Church in Danbury. The Maronite Church participated in the settlement.

4. Father Walter Coleman – TSRM reached a settlement on behalf of a man who was sexually abused by Father Coleman during the early 1980s while Coleman was assigned to the St. Joseph’s School in Brookfield, CT.

All five cases had been pending in Bridgeport Superior Court and were ultimately settled after days of mediation.

“As a result of countless hours of effort and hard work over the past 25 years, our law firm has been able to develop a collection of materials and information which we use to get our clients compensation for the abuse they have suffered. While the money can never take away their pain, we hope that the resolution will allow them to take a small step forward with their healing.” said Attorney, who along with Attorney Jason Tremont represent the victims.

“Emmaus is supposed to be a retreat where the youth focus on their faith and relationship with God; instead we have seen predator priests use religion as a means to groom and ultimately abuse them.” said Attorney Jason Tremont.

TSRM represents many types of sexual abuse victims, not only those assaulted by clergy. Under Connecticut law, any person who claims damages as a result of being sexually abused, sexually assaulted or sexually exploited as a minor has until they turn 48 years old in which to file a claim in court.

In addition to the four priests listed above, the following priests of the Diocese of Bridgeport, have had claims brought against them and/or were suspended following allegations of sexual abuse of minors:

  1. Father Kieran T. Ahearn
  2. Father Henry A. Albeke
  3. Father Stanley Banaszek
  4. Father Alfred J. Bietighofer
  5. Father Laurence F. X. Brett
  6. Father Charles T. Carr
  7. Father John Castaldo
  8. Father Jean Marie DeGraff
  9. Father Joseph DeShan
  10. Father Stephen J. DeLuca
  11. Reverend William Donovan
  12. Father William Fletcher
  13. Monsignor William A. Genuario
  14. Father Joseph H. Gorecki
  15. Father Richard J. Grady
  16. Father Sherman Gray
  17. Father Stanley Koziol
  18. Father Joseph Malloy
  19. Father Albert McGoldrick
  20. Father L. Luke Meunier
  21. Father Joseph P. Moore
  22. Father Gavin O’Connor
  23. Father Raymond S. Pcolka
  24. Father Martin Ryan
  25. Monsignor Gregory M. Smith
  26. Monsignor Charles W. Stubbs
  27. Father Vincent Veich
  28. Monsignor Frank Wissel

TSRM has also represented victims of clergy sexual abuse by priests of the Archdiocese of Hartford. The following priests of the Archdiocese have had claims brought against them and/or been suspended following allegations of sexual abuse:

  1. Father Joseph Buckley
  2. Father Stephen Crowley
  3. Father Ivan Ferguson
  4. Father Stephen C. Foley
  5. Father Thomas Glynn
  6. Father John Graham
  7. Monsignor Joseph Lacy
  8. Father Robert Ladamus
  9. Father Felix Maguire
  10. Father Daniel McSheffery
  11.  Father L. Luke Meunier
  12. Father Edward Muha
  13. Father Louis Paturzo
  14. Father Raymond Paul
  15. Father William Przybylo
  16. Monsignor Edward Reardon
  17. Father Kenneth Shiner
  18. Father Joseph Rozint