Experience, Compassion, Results

The personal injury attorneys of Tremont Sheldon P.C. help after an accident or abuse and have recovered more than $500 million in verdict and settlements for clients Est. 1961


Wrongful Death Cases, Slip and Falls, Dog Bites, Nursing Home Neglect, Medical Malpractice, Security Issues, Dram Shop and Catastrophic Injury.


Accidents Involving Cars, Trucks, Motorcycles, Pedestrians, Bicyclists, Public Transportation, Drunk Drivers and Uninsured Motorists.

Sexual Abuse

Church and Clergy Abuse, Medical Professional Abuse, Teacher Abuse, Campus Sexual Assault, Sports and Coach Abuse, Daycare Abuse and Other Child Abuse.


Any injury that occurs at work, including slips, trips, and falls, lifting injuries, motor vehicle collisions, occupational disease or illness.


Frequently Asked Questions

How Do I Know if I Have a Personal Injury Case?

You may have the right to bring a lawsuit to recover money damages for your losses if you were injured or harmed by another person or entity. You should consult with our lawyers as soon as possible after an injury to determine whether or not you have a case.

How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury?

In Connecticut, you generally have two years from the date of your injury to file a personal injury lawsuit that is based on the negligent conduct of another person or entity. The time limitation varies, however, depending on the nature of the claim.

What Are My Legal Rights if I Was Sexually Abused as a Child?

Most victims who claim damages for sexual abuse, sexual assault or sexual exploitation as a child can file a claim up to 30 years past the age of abuse (typically until the age of 48) in Connecticut. Those who are abused after October 1, 2019 have until they turn 51 years of age to bring a claim.

However, if you claim damages as a result of being sexually assaulted as an adult, then you have a much shorter time period in which to file a lawsuit. Typically, you have three years from the date of the assault to file against the perpetrator for his or her intentional acts and two years from the date of the assault to file against any other person or entity (e.g., perpetrator’s employer) who may have been negligent in allowing the perpetrator to have contact with you.

Why Choose Us?

Tremont Sheldon P.C. has more than 100 years of combined experience representing victims of child sexual abuse, accidents and injuries caused by the fault of others. Our firm only handles personal injury cases and understands the ins and outs of these cases, and as a result we have a history of proven success against insurance companies, hospitals, schools, churches, and other negligent parties. Our 4 award-winning attorneys and staff will handle every aspect of the process and keep you informed in a transparent, respectful, and caring manner. Our office is big enough to have resources and support to achieve maximum recovery for your case, but small enough to provide personalized service.

What Is the Fee in a Personal Injury Case?

Under Connecticut law Sec. 52-251c, attorney fees in personal injury cases are paid on a contingency fee* basis. This means the fee is paid at the end of the case and is calculated on the amount of the final settlement or judgment.

*Contingency fee is defined as payment to an attorney for legal services that depends, or is contingent, upon there being some recovery or award in the case. The payment is then a percentage of the amount recovered. You pay nothing unless payment/recovery is received.