Seeking Justice and Fighting for You
We represent people who have suffered injuries in an accident or due to the fault of another or victims of child sexual abuse. Our experienced trial lawyers provide victims and their families personal service in all personal injury cases such as:
- Motor vehicle crashes involving cars, trucks, pedestrians, bicyclists and motorcyclists
- Child sexual abuse civil claims by teachers, clergy, and coaches
- Medical malpractice, including birth injuries, misdiagnoses, and surgical errors
- Serious and fatal injuries caused by defective products, dog bites, negligent property owners and workplace accidents
- Nursing home injuries and wrongful death due to lack of proper staffing, poor training and abuse
- Legal malpractice that causes financial harm
No amount of compensation can undo what has happened. But filing a civil suit against a sexual abuser can help you achieve justice. You may not have felt vindicated by the criminal case — if there was one — but you can still hold the abuser accountable in civil court. With over 50 years of representing victims of abuse, accidents and injuries caused by the fault of others, you can rely on our attorneys and staff to treat you with care and respect throughout the entire process.
Frequently Asked Questions
How Do I Know if I Have a Personal Injury Case?
A. You may have the right to bring a lawsuit to recover money damages for your losses if you were injured or harmed by another person or entity. You should consult with our lawyers as soon as possible after an injury to determine whether or not you have a case.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury?
What Are My Legal Rights if I Was Sexually Abused as a Child?
A. Most victims who claim damages for sexual abuse, sexual assault or sexual exploitation as a child can file a claim up to 30 years past the age of abuse (typically until the age of 48) in Connecticut. Those who are abused after October 1, 2019 have until they turn 51 years of age to bring a claim.
However, if you claim damages as a result of being sexually assaulted as an adult, then you have a much shorter time period in which to file a lawsuit. Typically, you have three years from the date of the assault to file against the perpetrator for his or her intentional acts and two years from the date of the assault to file against any other person or entity (e.g., perpetrator’s employer) who may have been negligent in allowing the perpetrator to have contact with you.
Why Choose Us?
What Is the Fee in a Personal Injury Case?
A. Under Connecticut law Sec. 52-251c, attorney fees in personal injury cases are paid on a contingency fee* basis. This means the fee is paid at the end of the case and is calculated on the amount of the final settlement or judgment.
*Contingency fee is defined as payment to an attorney for legal services that depends, or is contingent, upon there being some recovery or award in the case. The payment is then a percentage of the amount recovered. You pay nothing unless payment/recovery is received.
Connecticut Law Today
When you get behind the wheel of a motor vehicle, you take on a huge responsibility. If you have any type of impairment or distraction, it could lead to a serious accident. Impairment does not always mean that you are drunk or under the influence of drugs. Sometimes,...
A slip and fall incident in a retail store can be painful. By knowing your rights in this situation, you can prevent further frustration and find justice. Being aware of what steps you can take next when you get hurt in a store is imperative. According to FindLaw, the...
There is a customer at the bar who has clearly drank too much. He or she shows obvious signs of intoxication, can barely speak without a telltale slur and insists on another drink. The bartender sees the signs but chooses to ignore them and provides the guest with...
See How Our Attorneys Can Help
Our attorneys welcome the opportunity to help you achieve the outcome you deserve. Call 203-212-9075 or contact us online today for a free consultation with our experienced lawyers. You pay nothing unless we win your case.